Welcome Guest! To enable all features please login.

Notification

Icon
Error

Chelsea S
#1 Posted : 11 September 2018 23:49:54(UTC)
Chelsea S

Groups: Registered

Hi!

Im a bit of a newbie around here please bear with, apologies if it’s been asked before!

i‘ve had my 2008 2.0l Sport soft top for just over a year now, she’s stock (for now lol) and it looks like my rear shock absorbers have past their use by date! The car originally came with Bilsteins which I believe were a model specifically made for the 5 at the time (?). My question is - has anyone else replaced the shock absorbers on the Sport NC with Bilsteins like-for-like? I’ve been looking online and don’t know whether the B6 or B8 would be best to be similar if not the same as the original ones? I’ll be keeping the front shocks as they are.

The plan is to replace the rear shocks, and then go for Eibach 30mm lowering springs all round, of course shortly followed by alignment. Is there a model of Bilstein shocks which would be better to use with the lowering springs?

Any advice would be much appreciated Smile

Thanks, Chelsea

(congrats to me on my first forum post woohoo!) 

Benz3ne
#2 Posted : 12 September 2018 08:44:47(UTC)
Benz3ne

Man

Was thanked: 56 time(s) in 49 post(s)
Welcome and congrats!

It's a job I'm meaning to do... though mine's not the Sport so doesn't have the Bilsteins. Have a gander on Mx5Parts.co.uk, they'll have the correct Bilsteins and they're also knowledgeable folk so can advise on what was stock/what to go for etc. :)
'55' NC 2.0 - Ddu Gwych, Brilliant Black.
MickAP
#3 Posted : 12 September 2018 08:47:02(UTC)
MickAP

Groups: OCMember, Registered

Was thanked: 582 time(s) in 551 post(s)

My advice (from experience) would be to go straight to coil overs. They are a tad expensive but worth it if you can afford it and very much worth it if you are keeping the car long term.