Welcome Guest! To enable all features please login.

Notification

Icon
Error

Fidder
#1 Posted : 30 October 2018 17:16:38(UTC)
Fidder

Rank: Advanced poster

Groups: OCMember, Registered
Joined: 16/07/2017(UTC)
Posts: 169
Man
Location: Essex

Thanks: 13 times
Was thanked: 25 time(s) in 17 post(s)

Can anyone advise on what I need to do to see photos on here please?  Once or twice now I read a post that claims to contain pics but all I see is a tiny black square with a cross in it.  Nothing happens when I click on it so I presume it’s something to do with my settings, but what?  Got left behind the techno revolution when Swatches came out.

 

John M
#2 Posted : 30 October 2018 18:00:56(UTC)
John M

Rank: Advanced poster

Groups: OCMember, Registered
Joined: 17/08/2011(UTC)
Posts: 425
Location: Tring, Herts.

Thanks: 89 times
Was thanked: 91 time(s) in 77 post(s)

Pictures that are displayed in posts (i.e. not uploaded as attachments) exist on another site e.g. https://postimages.org/

In these cases the post contains a link to the picture.  Often those links get broken, or in the case of photobucket they stop working when the host decides it is no longer going to provide that service.  There are a lot of non-working photobucket links on this site in older posts.

Can you see this picture?

 

Edited by user 30 October 2018 18:31:38(UTC)  | Reason: corrected typos

2017 Arctic #320
Fidder
#3 Posted : 30 October 2018 18:12:42(UTC)
Fidder

Rank: Advanced poster

Groups: OCMember, Registered
Joined: 16/07/2017(UTC)
Posts: 169
Man
Location: Essex

Thanks: 13 times
Was thanked: 25 time(s) in 17 post(s)

Greetings John and thanks.  No, no picture, just the black square with the inner 'X'. 

ATR
#4 Posted : 30 October 2018 18:19:53(UTC)
ATR

Rank: Regular poster

Groups: OCMember, Registered
Joined: 08/04/2009(UTC)
Posts: 93
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire

Thanks: 66 times
Was thanked: 29 time(s) in 26 post(s)
I can see the photo using my iPad without having to click on anything. I wonder if it's a browser issue on the OP's device? Maybe worth trying to view on a different device if you have one.


Andrew
Mazda MX5 NB - MK2.5 - 1.8 Splash green 2003
Fidder
#5 Posted : 30 October 2018 18:32:51(UTC)
Fidder

Rank: Advanced poster

Groups: OCMember, Registered
Joined: 16/07/2017(UTC)
Posts: 169
Man
Location: Essex

Thanks: 13 times
Was thanked: 25 time(s) in 17 post(s)

Thanks ATR.  I don't have another device other than a phone and that diverts to RX8!  Would this device have to be 'known' to postimages?

John M
#6 Posted : 30 October 2018 18:33:00(UTC)
John M

Rank: Advanced poster

Groups: OCMember, Registered
Joined: 17/08/2011(UTC)
Posts: 425
Location: Tring, Herts.

Thanks: 89 times
Was thanked: 91 time(s) in 77 post(s)

What ATR said. No, your device wouldn't have to be known to the host site or signed in.

Something to do with your device or its settings.

Edited by user 30 October 2018 18:35:14(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

2017 Arctic #320
Scottishfiver
#7 Posted : 30 October 2018 18:51:27(UTC)
Scottishfiver

Rank: Advanced poster

Groups: Registered
Joined: 14/05/2009(UTC)
Posts: 2,134

Thanks: 329 times
Was thanked: 377 time(s) in 307 post(s)

  I can see it John, on Windaz10 PC .

Chillax
#8 Posted : 30 October 2018 20:06:53(UTC)
Chillax

Rank: Advanced poster

Groups: Registered
Joined: 19/04/2018(UTC)
Posts: 157
Man
Location: East coast Scotland

Thanks: 86 times
Was thanked: 22 time(s) in 19 post(s)

I too can see the photo ok and I'm using android tablet. What browser are you using on your phone fidder and what phone do you have. I work in IT so might be able to help as we deal with phones too (Samsung Android and iPhone 5/6). If it's an iPhone it might be trickier to sort as they're pants! Lol

Deffo a browser setting issue.

Drives: Mk1 Mazda MX5 NA. Life is a journey best travelled with the top down!

alben
#9 Posted : 30 October 2018 20:19:02(UTC)
alben

Rank: Forum newbie

Groups: OCMember, Registered
Joined: 30/05/2018(UTC)
Posts: 18

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 5 post(s)
No problems seeing photo using both my i pad with google chrome or my galaxy with the standard internet browser. Can only think it’s the settings on the individual hardware or the actual browsers, I do find that the forum pages do look better formatted on my i pad though.
Fidder
#10 Posted : 01 November 2018 12:12:41(UTC)
Fidder

Rank: Advanced poster

Groups: OCMember, Registered
Joined: 16/07/2017(UTC)
Posts: 169
Man
Location: Essex

Thanks: 13 times
Was thanked: 25 time(s) in 17 post(s)

Originally Posted by: Chillax Go to Quoted Post

I too can see the photo ok and I'm using android tablet. What browser are you using on your phone fidder and what phone do you have. I work in IT so might be able to help as we deal with phones too (Samsung Android and iPhone 5/6). If it's an iPhone it might be trickier to sort as they're pants! Lol

Deffo a browser setting issue.

 

 

Thanks for that. My phone is a Galaxy S3 Mini but I never use that for anything other than family contacts.  PC is HP (two years old on W10).  Looked through Settings but don't see anything relevant, on the other hand I would not necessarily know what to look for!  The same thing has happened once or twice before - irksome. 

Chillax
#11 Posted : 01 November 2018 20:42:31(UTC)
Chillax

Rank: Advanced poster

Groups: Registered
Joined: 19/04/2018(UTC)
Posts: 157
Man
Location: East coast Scotland

Thanks: 86 times
Was thanked: 22 time(s) in 19 post(s)

Originally Posted by: Fidder Go to Quoted Post

Originally Posted by: Chillax Go to Quoted Post

I too can see the photo ok and I'm using android tablet. What browser are you using on your phone fidder and what phone do you have. I work in IT so might be able to help as we deal with phones too (Samsung Android and iPhone 5/6). If it's an iPhone it might be trickier to sort as they're pants! Lol

Deffo a browser setting issue.

 

 

Thanks for that. My phone is a Galaxy S3 Mini but I never use that for anything other than family contacts.  PC is HP (two years old on W10).  Looked through Settings but don't see anything relevant, on the other hand I would not necessarily know what to look for!  The same thing has happened once or twice before - irksome. 

No probs mate. What browser do you use on your phone and of? Are you getting the same issue on the pc too?

Drives: Mk1 Mazda MX5 NA. Life is a journey best travelled with the top down!

Fidder
#12 Posted : 02 November 2018 12:37:45(UTC)
Fidder

Rank: Advanced poster

Groups: OCMember, Registered
Joined: 16/07/2017(UTC)
Posts: 169
Man
Location: Essex

Thanks: 13 times
Was thanked: 25 time(s) in 17 post(s)

I've never used the phone for internet other than for this photo problem.  A mix of myopia and fat fingers (there ought to be a name for it) make it a joke.  PC browser is Mic.Windows. 

Chillax
#13 Posted : 03 November 2018 21:26:19(UTC)
Chillax

Rank: Advanced poster

Groups: Registered
Joined: 19/04/2018(UTC)
Posts: 157
Man
Location: East coast Scotland

Thanks: 86 times
Was thanked: 22 time(s) in 19 post(s)

Can you pm me the following details mate:

  • what version of Windows you're running (windows 7, Windows 10 etc)?
  • What browser is it (Internet Explorer, Firefox, Chrome etc) and version?
  • Does it happen on all websites or just this one?

Better we do this via pm in case I need you to change any settings/need any more info.

Drives: Mk1 Mazda MX5 NA. Life is a journey best travelled with the top down!

Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF 1.9.6.1 | YAF © 2003-2018, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.656 seconds.